What's new

Mobilinkd and Baofeng Uv5r

Chaos

I was going to pull the trigger on this poor man's APRS but then I had a quick question. I think the Baofeng is a dual band so I can be on the APRS channel and be on another band at the same time? Anyone use this set up? Do they like it?

I don't have that setup, but I've always thought it would be a fun project.

However, I have read in other forums that 5W of an HT is not ideal if you want to use APRS any distance from an urban area. If you really want APRS to hit digipeaters while in the backcountry you will want higher power output.

Swank1975

I just purchased a Baefeng UV-5RV2+. So far I've listened to local radio stations on FM and NOAA weather. I've not touched that transmit button yet as I'm still studying for my tech test. I've purchased the ARRL manual and I'm using a flashcard study site that Brad mentioned in another post. Should be a week or two before I test.

Chaos

That's funny! It took me a good year before I actually touched the transmit button and that was after I had my license. I didn't listen in a lot though.... I finally started using my ham in simplex on trail rides with other ham folks. I used an app and was able to pass pretty easily! Good luck and reach back out and maybe we can try to communicate on our ham radios.

REDONE

This is very similar to my APRS set up. I'm using a old MotoX with APRSdroid tethered to a regular UV-5R with an 18" mag mount antenna.
The good: It receives everything! I tested it on a drive to Grand Lake from Lakewood, set to transmit every 10 minutes. The whole trip I received packets from all over. Sheriffs, weather stations, and a handful of other hams; both houses and cars. With APRS I had full maps for where I had saved google maps to the MotoX at home through WiFi. Since the MotoX is old and not connected to a cell network I leave it in airplane mode out in the bush. I was really impressed with how well it worked!